Special Education Department

  • Welcome to the Wayne County Special Education Department.  Our website offers an overview of the exceptionalities, services, and staff available for Students with Disabilities in our school system.  We are committed to providing our students a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) as outlined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). 

    Our focus is and will always be to meet the individual needs of our students with disabilities in addressing their academic, behavioral, and social skills. 

    We believe in our system’s mission to empower all students to their highest levels of achievement. 

    Please use our website as a resource if you are considering Wayne County to serve the future needs of your child. 

    Central Office Staff

    Jana Collins, Ed.S., Director of Special Education:  jana.collins@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Jennifer Popkin, M.Ed., Assistant Special Education Director: jennifer.popkin@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Lynn Keith, Ed.S., Special Education Preschool Coordinator: lkeith@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Lisa Fore, Ed.S., School Psychologist:  lfore@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Kori LeFree, Ed.S., School Psychologist: kori.lefree@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Vicky B. Boyette, Special Education Secretary:  vboyette@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Wendy Horne, Medicaid Clerk/SpEd Speech Secretary:   whorne@wayne.k12.ga.us

     

    WCSS School Lead Teachers

    James E Bacon Elementary - Chyenne Henry chenry@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Jesup Elementary - Melissa Kent mkent@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Screven Elementary - Jeanie Beard jbeard@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Martha Rawls Smith Elementary - Laura Sloan  lsloan@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Odum Elementary - Kristi Copeland kcopeland@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Martha Puckett Middle School - Selena Robbins srobbins@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Arthur Williams Middle School - Belissa Wangstad bwangstad@wayne.k12.ga.us

    Wayne Counthy High School - Sherry Milikin smilikin@wayne.k12.ga.us

     

    TRANSITION COORDINATOR

    Terri Long, Wayne County High School:  tlong@wayne.k12.ga.us

     

    GAA FACILITATOR

    Jessica Lindsay, Wayne County High School: jlindsay@wayne.k12.ga.us